Towanda boys, Sayre girls swimming get win.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | February 16, 2018


The Towanda boys swim team topped Sayre 99-58, while the Sayre girls won 82-77.

Sayre's Claire Shaffer, Jillian Shay, Kayla Kittle and Jennifer Shaffer won the 200 medley relay in 2:14.17.

For the boys Towanda won the 200 medley relay in 1:54.09 with a team of Zach Sims, John Schrader, Demetrius Hill and Connor Wilcox.

Shay won the 200 free for Sayre in 2:16.09, Cynthia Kerrick of Towanda was second in 2:29.76 and Ava Gannon of Towanda was third in 2:43.89.

Caleb McClelland of Sayre won the 200 free in 1:58.36, followed by Towanda's Aaron Trybula (2:13.97) and Zach Gowin of Towanda (2:25.93).

Erica Locke of Towanda won the 200 IM in 2:40.63 and Joshua McClelland won the 200 IM for boys in 2:22.34, followed by Wilcox (2:27.87) and Schrader (2:44.27).

Kayla Hughey of Sayre won the 50 free in 27.98, followed by Towanda's Mary Smiley (30.41) and Jessica Tice of Towanda (30.75).

Towanda's Kaigon Stroop won the 50 free in 26.65, followed by Sayre's Matthew Beers (26.92) and Towanda's Avery Klees (27.32).

In the girls' diving Smiley won at 151.25, followed by Sayre's Mackenzie Wilkerson (133.35) and for the boys Hill won (214.40), followed by Sayre's Joey Stermer (186.30) and Schrader (179.10).

For the 100 fly Kittle won for Sayre in 1:13.01 and Katie Barto of Towanda was second in 1:37.75.

Sims won the 100 fly in 1:01.58.

Hughey, Claire Shaffer, Shay and Kittle won the 200 free relay in 1:51.45, breaking the Sayre school record. For the boys Beers, Caleb McClelland, Stermer and Joshua McClelland won in 1:39.86.

Locke won the 100 free for the girls in 1:01.97, followed by Claire Shaffer (1:04.99) and Emily Lattimer of Sayre (1:06.59).

In the 100 back Sims won in 1:01.13, followed by Joshua McClelland (1:05.69) and Jaden Wise of Towanda (1:34.79).

Emily Morris of Towanda won the 100 breaststroke in 1:25.86, followed by Lattimer (1:40.04) and Jessie Hartmann of Towanda (1:42.23).

Wilcox won the 100 breaststroke for the boys in 1:13.52, followed by Stermer (1:16.42) and Sam VanDermark of Sayre (1:20.18).

Towanda's Locke, Kerrick, Tice and Morris won the 400 free relay in 4:32.50 and for the boys Schrader, Hill, Wilcox and Sims won in 3:58.81.